dharmabumgrl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tacos y Burritos

Why is it that New Yorkers find it no problem paying $8 for a taco, and $12 for a burrito? Also how is it even considered mexican food when they don't use lime or cilantro?

The taquerias in New York are typically run by Asian families, the carne asada and the grilled pollo are remarkable, they usually make their own flour tortillas, which are deelish, but the only corn tortillas they use are those hard crunchy ones similar to those from taco bell.

I went to Burriotville a few weeks back with my boyfriend, I ordered a carne asada taco, the man said, "excuse me?" I said may I please have a "carne asada taco?" He said, "we do not have that ma'am, please order off of the menu" I said "you don't have grilled steak?" he said, "which taco off of the menu do you want, and by the way carne asada is chicken" at which point I turned around and walked out there is no way I'm ordering a steak taco from a mexican restaurant that thinks carne asada is chicken.

huh?

10:35 a.m. - July 25, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Tollef
iamen
jackpage
dianabee
jwinokur
alora-dream
aesthesia
actiongrl
adamexe
davemarr
budonkadonk
zack123go
bubbleviciou
thebestof
traumatease
goodfeeling
omzhaara
itsolga
favoritesong
kittyslave
sn00t
impugnable
Lovercraft
wigglestick
hardluck
rocklifer
carcruncher
andross
lydibug
lexan
Modern-art
ludicn
perceptions
bitfox
lucky-starz
mad-skillz
lostboynada
f-i-n