dharmabumgrl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can *we* really make a difference?

How fiction is the movie Fight Club? Don't we all have that inner struggle? One part of us wants to buy Gap, Fendi, Guess, shop at Ikea and drink Starbucks? The other part wants to live in a tree for a year to protest the abuse to our forests, its animal inhabitants and the world. Only when death stares us in the face do we realize that our 9-5 job, our little condo in the city and our $100 dinners every other night, do not bring about a fulfilling life.

Twyla Durden - This is what I will call her. She is the voice in my head that exclaims that everything does not have to have a reason. To think outside of the box, and to "let go" I have been thinking a lot about the "chemical burn" scene. I mean, stressing about work, causes me physical pain. I am not kidding, I cannot breath, I have that feeling in my stomach, you know the feeling you have when you have had way too much coffee? Its the sick roller coaster, jittery feeling. Stressing about anything does this to me. Therefore, I cannot live in the moment, because I am stressing about other things that really don't matter anyway.

Maybe I have some Grandeur vision of how life is really supposed to be and I am just setting myself up to be disappointed. I naively think that I and the others who think like I do, can make a difference, and the world will magically stop heading down the path of destruction. But, really what's going to happen is that the powers of evil, rather ignorance are stronger and larger in number, and we have no hope.

Really what should be happening, is this terrorist shit, should have been our scare - death staring us in the face, so we realize how we really want our lives to be and how we need to halt the path we were on, and choose the path less traveled, the one that is peaceful and not full of useless mass produced crap, and hormone filled foods and pesticide filled produce. Lets call that path the hunter-gatherer path. Instead the majority of us are going the other way and seeking to destroy anything similar to who we *think* has done these terrible things to us, and cause chaos in their lives and the innocent who happen to live in their country but don't share the same hatred for the United States.. Not that I think a simple change to the way of life will settle all of this, but look what we have created. Look what our interference has done. I don't know what is right. But I do know that we are obviously on the wrong path. What bewilders me is why the majority cannot see that.

8:46 p.m. - 2001-09-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Tollef
iamen
jackpage
dianabee
jwinokur
alora-dream
aesthesia
actiongrl
adamexe
davemarr
budonkadonk
zack123go
bubbleviciou
thebestof
traumatease
goodfeeling
omzhaara
itsolga
favoritesong
kittyslave
sn00t
impugnable
Lovercraft
wigglestick
hardluck
rocklifer
carcruncher
andross
lydibug
lexan
Modern-art
ludicn
perceptions
bitfox
lucky-starz
mad-skillz
lostboynada
f-i-n